This site will work and look better in a modern Web browser that supports Web Standards such as XHTML and CSS. Please visit the WVU Libraries Web Browser Upgrade page for more information on upgrading your web browser.

WVU Libraries strongly recommends upgrading your web browser, but will continue to provide a site that will be functional in all web browsers.

  • A-Z Site Index  · 
  • Campus Map  · 
  • Directory  · 
  • Contact Us  · 
  • Hours  · 
  • WVU Home
  • Find
    • Articles
    • Books
    • Images
    • Movies
    • Sound & Video
    • Web Sites
  • Services
    • Borrowing
    • Copying
    • Depository Journals
    • Disabilities
    • Distance Education
    • eReserves & Reserves
    • Interlibrary Loan
    • Renew Books Online
    • Suggest a Purchase
  • Libraries & Collections
    • All Libraries & Collections
    • Appalachian Collection
    • Digital Collections
    • Government Information
    • Map Room
    • Media Services
    • Patents & Trademarks
    • Theses & Dissertations
  • Help & Instruction
    • Ask a Librarian
    • Classes
    • Computing
    • Faculty Information
    • Guides & Tutorials
    • Reference Online
    • Term Paper Clinic
  • Hours & Information
    • Driving Directions
    • Hours
    • Library Friends & News
    • Library History
    • Library Maps
    • Library Policies
    • Strategic Plan
    • Virtual Tour
  • Introduction
  • Hours
  • Photocopying
  • Reservations
  • Services & Disclaimers

  • WEB SITES
  • Patents
    • Foreign Patents
    • Guides
    • U.S. Patents
  • Copyrights
  • Inventors & Inventing
  • Legal Resources
  • Trademarks

Guides

  • The 7-Step Strategy
    http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/ac/ido/ptdl/step7.htm
    This Seven Step Strategy from the USPTO provides a traditional guide to searching patents.
  • Patent Searching Tutorial
    http://www.lib.utexas.edu/engin/patent-tutorial/index.htm
    This excellent tutorial available from the University of Texas at Austin is recommended prior to attempting a web based patent search.
  • Preliminary Patent Searching on the Web
    http://www.library.okstate.edu/patents/websrch.htm
    For good searching strategy and assessment of websites see "IN A NUTSHELL" in this excellent website from Oklahoma State University.
  • Patent Search Tutorial
    http://www.libraries.psu.edu/instruction/business/Patents/index.html
    A tutorial from Penn State University Libraries to help you understand the process and procedure in searching patents.
  • Technology Protection: Searching U.S. Patent Resources
    http://www.wvnet.edu/conference/proceedings/searching_patents/
    searching_patent_resources.htm

    This paper was presented at the West Virginia Statewide Conference in Charleston, WV on August 4, 2004 by Marian G. Armour-Gemmen. Includes links to patent resources.
  • How to Conduct Patent Searches
    http://www.lib.ncsu.edu/ptdl/patents/searching.html
    This guide from North Carolina State University provides tools, a multi-step process, and a comparison of CASSIS search with the USPTO website search.

West Virginia University Libraries
P.O. Box 6069 WVU
1549 University Ave
Morgantown, WV 26505-6069

Phone: 304.293.4040
Fax: 304.293.6638
Email: ask_a_librarian@mail.wvu.edu
© WVU Libraries